Friday, 20 July 2018
Latest news
Main » Karnataka registers 72.13 % turnout, better than last election in 2013

Karnataka registers 72.13 % turnout, better than last election in 2013

14 May 2018

The Karnataka election results will be announced on Tuesday. There was only one exit poll which predicted a close to full majority to BJP while rest of the seven clearly mentioned a hung assembly.

He also brushed aside the exit polls projections and termed them as "entertainment for the next 2 days".

He later joined Congress and became the chief minister of the southern state. Siddaramaiah exhorted his party workers, supporters and well wishers to relax and enjoy their weekend.

Sinha said the highest polling of 76 per cent was recorded in Chikkaballapura and Ramanagara while Bengaluru Urban had the lowest turnout at 48 per cent.

To a question on the possibility of a Dalit Chief Minister, he said, "It is fine if the party decides to have a Dalit Chief Minister".

Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda's Janata Dal Secular, forecast by a poll of exit polls to play a key role in forming Karnataka's next government, squashed speculation that the party could support the BJP.

Yates soars into Giro lead, Chaves wins stage
With AP Photos.Sam Bennett has timed his sprint to perfection to win the seventh stage of the Giro d'Italia. Dutch rider Dumoulin is now second overall at 16sec behind Yates.

"Our own internal surveys have not let us down as a lot of them have predicted that we will emerge as the single largest party and form the government".

Siddharamaiah had successfully steered the Congress providing a stable Government for five years from 2013 to 2018 in Karnataka, which has in the past seen repeated changes of Chief Ministers since 1978. Please note average of 6+4+2 is 4. The India Today-Axis exit poll said the Congress would be the single largest party.

Dismissing speculations of hung assembly Yeddyurappa told reporters in Bengaluru today that he can give in writing that the BJP will get an absolute majority bagging 125 to 130 seats.

Times Now VMR predicted the BJP getting 86, the Congress 96, JD-S 35 and others 3 while Republic TV-Jan ki bat predicted 104 seat for the BJP, 77 for the Congress, 37 for the JD-S and two for others.

In Chamundeshwari where Chief Minister Siddaramaiah fought his last electoral battle the polling was 76.05 per cent, while in his second contesting constituency Badami witnessed a turnout was 74.65. Times Now put the likely tally of the JD (S) at 31-39 while India Today put its figure at 22-30 seats. In 2005, former Prime Minister Gowda had expelled Siddaramaiah from JD (S) and it was then that Siddaramaiah joined Congress.

Karnataka registers 72.13 % turnout, better than last election in 2013