Saturday, 18 August 2018
Latest news
Main » Baker Mayfield headlines 2017 Heisman Trophy finalists

Baker Mayfield headlines 2017 Heisman Trophy finalists

05 December 2017

This is the second season Mayfield has been a finalist for the award.

The senior has led Oklahoma to 12 wins and a Big 12 Championship, as well as a spot in the College Football Playoff this season.

The official voting window for the 2017 Heisman Trophy victor closes today, and the victor will be announced Saturday night amid much pomp and circumstance in NY.

In recent interviews, Penn State's record-breaking running back had talked about the possibility of not being invited to NY for the Heisman Trophy ceremony, and how he was OK with it.

Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson probably won't repeat as the Heisman victor, but he'll likely be at the ceremony after finishing as the nation's total offense leader at 411 yards a game.

US Withdraws from UN Global Compact on Migration
President Barack Obama's administration backed the resolution, known as the New York Declaration , which also asked U.N. The US has been a part of the New York Declaration for Refugees and Migrants since it was formed past year .

Love piled up 1,973 rusing yards and 17 touchdowns, averaging over 8 yards per carry. He has thrown for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns with only five interceptions in 13 games, completing 71% of his passes.

The Sooner quarterback finished with the second most passing yards in the country, piling up 4,340 through the air. He has a chance to become the sixth Sooner Heisman victor and the first Heisman victor to begin his career as a "walk-on" athlete. Players receive three points for a first-place vote, two for a second and one for a third. He's the FBS all-time leader in passer efficiency rating (176.03). He finished fourth in the 2015 Heisman balloting.

Here are the 2017 Heisman finalists, with the victor set to be announced December 9 at 8 p.m. ET.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy electorate, which selects the finalists and the Heisman victor, is comprised of 929 voters, including 870 media members and 58 former Heisman winners. "We look forward to recognizing their remarkable individual accomplishments and celebrating the victor of the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night".

Baker Mayfield headlines 2017 Heisman Trophy finalists